WWF Duke of Edinburgh Conservation Award | WWF
© WWF / fergusburnett.com

WWF Duke of Edinburgh Conservation Award

HRH Prince Philip presents the 2016 Duke of Edinburgh Conservation Award to Irina Bokova.

The Duke of Edinburgh Conservation Award

The WWF Duke of Edinburgh Conservation Award is WWF’s premier award. The purpose of the award is to recognize, once a year, highly meritorious contributions to the conservation of wildlife and natural resources.

 rel= © WWF / fergusburnett.com

At its inception in 1970 it was known as the WWF Gold Medal, but on Prince Philip’s retirement as WWF International President in 1996 it was renamed the Duke of Edinburgh Conservation Medal in tribute to the role he has played in the development of WWF as a global conservation organization and its many conservation achievments troughout the world. Since 2014 it has been called the Duke of Edinburgh Conservation Award.

Recipients of the award receive a certificate signed by the Duke of Edinburgh and the Director General of WWF.

Recipients of the Duke of Edinburgh Conservation Medal

	© Fergus Burnett Photography

2017 - André Hoffmann (Switzerland)
2016 - Irina Bokova (Bulgaria)
2015 - Alasdair Harris (UK)
2015 - Alifereti Tawake (Fiji)
2014 - Gathorne Hardy (UK)
2013 - Paul Polman (Netherlands)
2012 - Ofir Drori (Israel)
2011 - Dr Ashok Khosla OBA (India)
2010 - Anatoly Belov (Russia)
2009 - Chen Yiyu (China)
2008 - Marina Silva (Brazil)
2007 - Dr. Denzil Miller (South Africa)
2006 - Dr. James E Hansen (USA)
2005 - Dr. Tirtha Man Maskey (Nepal)
2004 - Prof. Brian Morton (UK)
2003 - Dr. Anton Rupert (South Africa)
2002 - Hemendra Singh Panwar (India)
2001 - Prof Qu Geping (China)
2000 - Aleksey Vladimirovich Yablokov (Russia)
1999 - Tengku Datuk Zainal Adlin (Malaysia)
1998 - Dr. Luc Hoffman (Switzerland)
1997 - Prof Paulo Nogueira Neto (Brazil)
1996 - Dr Ernst Von Weizsäcker (Germany)
1995 - ZA National Parks Board and
Richtersveld Natal Parks Board (ZA)
1994 - Shoaib Sultan Khan (Pakistan)
1993 - Dr. Ivan Voloscuk (Slovak Republic)
1992 - Dr. Marcio Ayres (Brazil)
1991 - Ms Mary Helena Allegretti (Brazil)
1990 - Dr. Edward O Wilson (USA)
1989 - Lester R Brown (USA)
1988 - Prof Vo Quy (Vietnam)
1987 - HRH Prince Bernhard of the NDL and
Prof Paul Ehrlich (USA)
1986 - Sir Peter Scott (UK)
1985 - Dr. George Archibald (Canada)
1984 - Dr. Richard Evans Schultes (USA)
1983 - Dr. Norman Myers (UK)
1982 - Max Nicholson (UK)
1981 - Prof Jean-Jacques Petter (France)
1980 - Dr George B Schaller (USA)
1979 - Dr Sydney Holt (USA)
1978 - Guy Mountfort (UK)
1977 - Prof Dr Rudolf Schenkel (Switzerland)
1976 - Arjan Singh (India)
1975 - Michel Anna (France)
1974 - Dr Anne LaBastille (USA)
1973 - Prof Archie Carr (USA), Dr José C M Carvalho (Brazil)
and Col Jack Vincent (South Africa)
1972 - Prof Andry G Bannikov (USSR), Major Ian R Grimwood (UK)
and Dr Roger Tory Peterson (USA)
1971 - Ms Phillys Barclay-Smith (UK), John S Owen (UK)
and Dr José A Valverde (Spain)
1970 - Prof. Bernhard Grzimek (Germany), Sir Julian Huxley (UK)
and Dr Jacques Verschuren (Belgium)


News & Stories

Our very own DoE award winner Ofir Drori was attacked by a crocodile a few weeks ago and survived to tell the tale… he was canoeing in Ethiopia when it happened, he wrestled the croc off his leg and then had to crawl for two days through the forest with a massive wound to reach help!! Read the amazing story here